Brooklyn Structure: The Reformed Church in South Bushwick
Editor’s Note: This post was originally run and updated in 2004. You can read the previous post here.
Reaching the Reformed Church in South Bushwick is like being transported to a New England town where the white Ionic columns and steeple dominate the streets.
The Reformed Church dates from the Dutch settlements in Brooklyn dating back to 1654. The land was donated by two local parishioners in 1851, and the original ward consisted of 20 local farmers and their families.
The present church at 855 Bushwick Avenue was built in 1853 and designed by Messrs. Morgan. A chapel and Sunday school were added by JJ Buck in 1881-1883.
The adjacent street is named after Reverend John Himrod, the first pastor. Today the Church desperately needs funds to carry out necessary repairs. Hopefully this unique piece of Brooklyn’s rural history will not be lost.
It was listed as a Historic Monument in 1968, making this church one of the earliest listed buildings in Brooklyn.
[Photos by Susan De Vries]
Email [email protected] with additional comments, questions, or tips. Follow Brownstoner on Twitter and Instagram and like us on Facebook.